Home
    Private Messages   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Interesting Discussions -> Inspirational
Handle Without hurting/ shaming Chavrussa?
1  2  Next

amother
OP  

Post Sun, Jul 07 2024, 7:16 am
BH I have the time volunteer to mentor (and learn) with different chavrussas.

One of my “mentors” a chabad girl whom I started learning Chumash (4-5 sessions) and she said she was multitasking (while we learnimg Chumash (From the rebbe’s Chumash which is new to me, I’ve done rashi, rambam but no chassidut).

I’m Orthodox so I don’t know what the acceptable practice is amongst Chabad.
However my black hat LOR told me that it is “ very bad” to learn torah without Kavana and just as a mental exercise so I should change to another subject unless she finds a time where she can be fully present. I understand that if she needs to stop and tend to her young 3 yr old kids, that is ok. But doing house chores not ok.

I was told I should either tell her to pick another time or subject that is not torah. But doing house shores while torah learning I should not allow that.

I am uncomfortable telling a mother that she should not be doing that ( it’s for her sake as well as mine) according to “gate of trust” that one should positively influence their surroundings if see an any issue.

Anyways, how should I approach this? Should I end? Tell her to pick another subject or time? I dont want to offend the girl. Is this ok for chabad ladies?
Please advise!

singleagain

Post Sun, Jul 07 2024, 7:33 am
I'm guessing this is over the phone and you can tell that she's washing dishes or something?

"I find it distracting to have different noises in the background. Can we find a time that is quiet and more conducive to learning?"

Or are you close distance wise to suggest meeting in person?

amother
Whitesmoke  

Post Sun, Jul 07 2024, 7:37 am
amother OP wrote: