Home
    Private Messages   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
How to make a profit with after-school classes

amother
OP  

Post Tue, Aug 06 2024, 1:07 am
I am hoping someone out there has some advice for me.

Here is the scenario.

For the sake of this thread, I am a dance teacher. I have groups of girls who come to my studio and I teach them to dance. I have several groups, different ages and skill levels.
At the end of each session, each group does a large performance for an audience.

I have been doing this for several years. I charge up front for about 8 weeks. We start at the beginning with very easy steps and it gets harder and more sophisticated as the weeks go on. Ideally, after 8 weeks, the same girls will enroll for another 8 weeks, and so on until the performance. (Lets say the performance is at the end of 24 weeks).
From the beginning, we are working towards the performance. Each session brings up their level and they become more advanced.

Here's the problem. I don't feel I can have people commit to, say 24 weeks upfront. It's expensive and what if they don't like it? 8 weeks is a smaller commitment.

At the same time, I need a minimum number of girls per class to make it worth my time.

But after 8 weeks, some people drop out. The problem is that I'm still committed to the girls who stayed. And at the same time, I can't easily incorporate new girls into the group because they will be far behind the more advanced students.

So, asking people to commit to 24 classes upfront is not so realistic. But if I do less classes, after one 8 week session, I may not be able to continue with the group if there are fewer than the minimum needed.

This has been a source of frustration for me, especially since many times I feel locked in to continue with my current students, even if it's very few kids, and that stops me from being able to start a new group. I haven't been able to figure out a solution to this.