Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
First year middle school teacher any advice?

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jul 09 2024, 1:45 pm
I've taught before, but this is my first year teaching all subjects in middle school. I've taught 2nd grade for the past 2 years. amazing supervisors and getting support and curriculum. Definitely stressing and doubting myself. I know I am capable and can do this. Just letting the stress and fear of the unknown get to me.

Any experienced middle school teachers have any tips for me?

teachkids

Post Tue, Jul 09 2024, 1:48 pm
Don’t enter a power struggle. You will always lose.

amother
Stone

Post Tue, Jul 09 2024, 1:50 pm
Boys or girls?

s1

Post Tue, Jul 09 2024, 2:17 pm
Have very clear expectations and routines and stick to them.
Stay calm. (Easier said than done!)
Be consistent.
Praise and reward 10x more than you reprimand/punish

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jul 09 2024, 2:21 pm
amother Stone wrote:
Boys or girls?

Girls

Loch Ness

Post Tue, Jul 09 2024, 3:28 pm
Be consistent.
It's easy to let things go "just this time," but it's a slippery slope.
Make rules with consequences and stick to them.
The year is long. Eventually you'll probably start to "chill out" a bit, but don't do it too soon.

Also, kind of like what someone else wrote, don't get into a power struggle. Not with individual studens and not with a class as a whole. Always try to make every girl and every class feel respected. Once a class feels like they're the "bad class," the one you "hate," they will live up to that description and make your life miserable. Being consistent about rules and consequences doesn't mean you have to be a grouch. Give compliments and make girls feel good about themselves.