Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Zoom meetings when working from home - cameras on??
1  2  3  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Aug 08 2023, 2:35 pm
I've been working from home for over 12 years. 6 years at my current job. I work in my snood and slinky skirt and without makeup. During long boring meetings that are required that I attend, but more so as a formality (aka "babysitting" other employees), I sometimes fold laundry while I listen etc. I probably turn on my camera once every 3 months or so, but only if there's a valid reason and it's convenient for me to get nicely dressed, makeup and shaitel on. I've had frum bosses up until about 18 months ago when there was a management shift, and I landed up with a non Jewish manager who is completely clueless about yiddishkeit. I don't think she even knew what kosher was, and her knowledge is still very limited. My frum boss never ever asked me to turn on my camera, and I don't think I ever did with him. Honestly, to me it's not even tzniyus for a one-on-one with a frum man. I've been to the office every few months, so he knows what I look like lol. I know this female manager likes when I have my camera on, so once in a blue during a one-on-one check in with her, I'll do the clothes, makeup, shaitel prep so I can turn on my camera. In the past 2 weeks she started dropping hints, that she wants me to turn on camera during (all?) meetings. I'm not pleased. I feel like I'm losing a lot of freedom and work will be much more pressured and less enjoyable. I can't even explain to her about snoods... I have a few years seniority over her, but turned down the offer of her position, as I like my flexibility and not looking to increase my hours and/or responsibilities.