Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Anyone start teaching with no experience?

amother
OP

Post Fri, May 03 2024, 10:54 am
Really interested in teaching, but I have zero experience. What are my chances of getting a job? Not all of the schools in my area require a degree, but most people do have one.

amother
Steelblue

Post Fri, May 03 2024, 10:57 am
I started teaching with zero experience. It takes a lot of work and patience!!! Be kind to yourself. You gotta be super prepared and always on the ball. not for the faint of heart. I did it for 5 years! Loved every second but now I'm happy it's ova. IT'S WORK!

amother
Stonewash

Post Fri, May 03 2024, 10:58 am
Can you get a job as an aide.
This way you can learn from morexperienced teachers

amother
OP

Post Fri, May 03 2024, 10:58 am
amother Steelblue wrote:
I started teaching with zero experience. It takes a lot of work and patience!!! Be kind to yourself. You gotta be super prepared and always on the ball. not for the faint of heart. I did it for 5 years! Loved every second but now I'm happy it's ova. IT'S WORK!

Thanks for responding! What made you decide to leave, if I may ask?

amother
Smokey

Post Fri, May 03 2024, 10:59 am
Everyone starts that way! Very Happy

But seriously, there is a tremendous lack of teachers all across the US, I thinj especially limudei chol.

I think you'd have a great chance at being hired!

Unfortunately, many schools hire lots of newbies and don't have someone to mentor them. If you work at a school that invests I'm their teachers- not just paying for the torah umesorah crash course in August, but has a staff member to mentor throughout the year- that would be an ideal school.

I am a teacher, and it's bli ayin hara a very gratifying, though not well-paying career.

amother
Smokey

Post Fri, May 03 2024, 11:00 am
amother Stonewash wrote:
Can you get a job as an aide.