Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Israel related Inquiries & Aliyah Questions
Career for after aliya

amother
OP

Post Sun, Apr 21 2024, 8:20 am
What do you think is a better career for a mother with young kids?
I am a language teacher. I can give language lessons at home. I could try and find a teaching job in a school.
Or, I have been thinking of getting into high-tech, which pay better, but can I do it with young kids and at what capacity?
I have a friend who is a mom who said she chose to work for the government and get paid less and have low stress/ low presence job, but then she is earning like a secretary.
So working like that in high1tech would be more or less lucrative than giving language lessons?

Elfrida

Post Sun, Apr 21 2024, 8:27 am
What language(s) do you teach? The first thing is to see whether there is a demand for those languages in Israel.

Can you teach English as a foreign language? Almost all schools teach English.

amother
Heather

Post Sun, Apr 21 2024, 8:35 am
IMO if you are socially skilled you can give private English lessons, probably not rake in big bucks, but have a comfortable job that allows you to live your life and spend the kind of time you want to with your family.

If you ate not socially skilled, you might find it difficult to find and keep clients.

amother
Heather

Post Sun, Apr 21 2024, 8:38 am
Regular high tech jobs (9 to 5) are harder to find than people realize. You need to have IDF experience or know someone to get your foot in the door.

Work from home high tech jobs are even harder to find, and you get them when you've had 10+ years experience and are skilled at self-promotion/office politics.

amother
Heather

Post Sun, Apr 21 2024, 8:39 am
PSA: shy/nerdy/socially awkward people should NOT count on a high tech job in Israel unless you come with tons of experience from other countries. A degree means almost nothing.