Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Teenagers and Older children
Tired of self-centered teens and young adults
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  Next

amother
OP

Post Sun, Apr 07 2024, 2:48 pm
I’m a mom to young marrieds and teens. I’m also a HS teacher so I see lots of girls, not just my own. I am so, so tired of the selfishness in today’s generation. The things they say and do would never have happened 20 or 30 years ago.

At what point are these kids going to grow up?

s1

Post Sun, Apr 07 2024, 2:58 pm
I know how you feel. I think we need to remember that we actually need to teach the girls how to be less self centred, as they are not 'getting it' naturally.
It's not just about doing chessed and not speaking LH, it's a core understanding that the world does not revolve around them and their wants and their needs. It's an uphill struggle, sometimes we manage before they finish school, and sometimes we don't. Some of them get it in sem. And some don't get it til they get married. And some don't get it even then unfortunately 😕

amother
Cornsilk

Post Sun, Apr 07 2024, 2:59 pm
Excuse me? Who do you think raised today's generation?

lamplighter

Post Sun, Apr 07 2024, 3:00 pm
Somehow we raised them this way and I don't know how to backpedal

amother
Charcoal

Post Sun, Apr 07 2024, 3:01 pm
People have it backwards. Teens become self centered when they learn that otherwise things will never go their way.

amother
OP

Post Sun, Apr 07 2024, 3:05 pm
I think some parents allow their kids to be chutzpahdik and get away with a lot, but a lot don’t, so I don’t think it’s the parents’ fault. There are so many things that young people say today that show a lack of busha.

amother
Cornsilk

Post Sun, Apr 07 2024, 3:05 pm
amother OP wrote: