Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Work at Home Mothers
Whats the norm maternity leave from work?????!!!!!!! VENT!!!
1  2  Next

RightOnTarget

Post Thu, Feb 05 2009, 6:25 pm
Its not like I'm expecting a couple of months. I'm working partially in the office and the rest from home - I connect to my computer at work.

I was overdue with my baby and expected to stop working at least on my due date if not a week b4 but no I've been bothered through email and phone calls until my baby was born. And now since 2 weeks post partum, my boss and colleagues call with issues to take care. Oh of course it started with a half hour introduction of how things are out of control and not getting done since I'm away and He has to come in at night to do my work blah blah blah! and this is with 2 girls sitting in the office full time who I've been training in to do my work for 2 months......(Hope they're not on IMAMother) Of course I couldn't say no. He hasn't asked me to come into the office yet but I've been putting in quite a bit of work from home. and this is with a newborn and toddler home!!

I was kinda expecting a 6-8 wk. complete break! I took 2 full months off after my last baby - didn't have computer at home yet - thank goodness!

Is that way too much to ask for??????????

doodlesmom

Post Thu, Feb 05 2009, 6:27 pm
Sounds ridiculous...
Hope youre getting paid for this!!!
Just make sure to not answer their calls all the time....

mimivan

Post Thu, Feb 05 2009, 6:32 pm
No way Jose!

when I came home from the hospital..the person I trained to take over during my leave was sending me e-mails incessantly. I forwarded them to my boss and informed them that when I am on leave, I am on leave.

I don't know what kind of rapport you have with your boss, but express the need to have a real maternity leave however you think is the most diplomatic and effective.

RightOnTarget