Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Moving/ Relocating
Moving In a few weeks - help!

AGINY

Post Fri, Jan 30 2009, 4:54 am
I am not sure this is the right forum but didn't knwo where else to post. I am IYH moving from an apartment to a new house in a few weeks. I am very very excited but at the same time quite overwhelmed at having to pack everything we own. I don't know how to pace myself. DH doesn't want to "live with boxes" for weeks before we move, but I think it will take me more than a few days to pack all the sforim, kitchen stuff, clothes etc.

We have been living in this apartment for the 9 years we have been married so I am new to this moving thing. For those of you who have done it, do you have any tips or ideas to help me out here? How long in advance should I start packing? What made it easier/harder for you?

Thanks!

NotInNJMommy

Post Fri, Jan 30 2009, 5:05 am
start by getting rid of everything you haven't used in the past year or 2. try to sell it, give it away, or just trash it. Give yourself 10 days to get it OUT ofyour house. Do not shlepp it. shlepping costs money, time, stress, and shalom bayis. I've never decluttered as well as I have when moving.

You can pack ahead without "living out of boxes". Ask dh to set aside some seforim to keep him busy for a few weeks, and pack the rest. Same with dishes. Use disposable so you aren't spending time cleaning up and you can get the kitchen packed up. Are there toiletries you really can survive with only for a few weeks? Pack everything else up. Same with linens. Just keep out what you need to get by for those few weeks (assuming you just keep washing the same set or 2).

Get babysitters if appropriate. Arrange for someone else to clean up after you leave, so you don't have that headache.