Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays -> Chanukah
Need a never fail potato latke recipe

Mirel

Post Mon, Dec 01 2008, 1:59 pm
I have to say, Im a pretty good cook, and most things I make come out good. But when Chanukah comes around my cooking ego goes down the drain. My latkes either fall apart in the pan, come out too oily, or raw in the middle....what is the trick?

yo'ma

Post Mon, Dec 01 2008, 2:01 pm
Your oil has to be hot before frying and make sure you have enough eggs. As for the inside raw, cook it longer on a lower flame.

chanagital

Post Mon, Dec 01 2008, 2:38 pm
I use very hot oil so that if you drop oil it starts to pop and a good mix or I make fresh depending on my dh. The other thing I do and I am not ashamed of it is I buy Linda's Homemade Lakes and warm them in the oven.. they taste just like fresh and I don't have to get out the oil and put my kitchen in a mess or nearly burn it down like I did one chanukkah. They arrive within two days. To order just goto:
http://lindasgourmetlatkes.com/

Chocoholic

Post Wed, Dec 03 2008, 5:13 pm
Potato Latkes
Overcoming the Fear of Frying

By Levana Kirschenbaum

You may have guessed it: I have nothing nice to say about frying. Years ago, while fishing for a stubborn schnitzel in the frying pan, I burned my hand. While a scar reminds me of my aversion to frying, I will be the first to admit that there is no Chanukah without latkes.

In my catering career and for my friends and family at home, I have made thousands upon thousands of them and always watch them disappear at a flatteringly alarming rate. There is no doubt about it: latkes are a wonderful treat, and once we enter a house where their heavenly fragrance wafts through the kitchen, even a Spartan dieter will sheepishly watch his or her noble resolution turn to dust.