Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Kosher Kitchen
No-fail shabbos recipes, gluten free

amother
OP

Post Tue, Apr 09 2024, 12:58 pm
I’m having my in-laws for shabbos for the first time and I’m so nervous! I just got married and I’m not a very experienced cook. So give me your best recipes that are hard to mess up! Gluten free, please

Reality

Post Tue, Apr 09 2024, 1:03 pm
Never a good time to experiment when you are hosting and an inexperienced cook.

Stick to simple food you already know how to make that is gluten free: chicken with spices, rice and or spiced potatoes, salad etc.

Good luck!

amother
OP

Post Tue, Apr 09 2024, 1:33 pm
But I’m not really experienced with anything! The reason I’m hosting is because they’re having us for Pesach, I thought it’s only right to invite them for shabbos hagadol. Aren’t there any recipes that are hard to mess up? I’m good at following directions, I just don’t have a good instinct yet. Like don’t tell me “take it out when it’s ready”.

Amarante

Post Tue, Apr 09 2024, 1:44 pm
When serving company I find it is really helpful to have some items that are ready to be served and other items that I have prepped in advance so that all that is needed is to pop them in the oven.

For example, I make a Wild Rice Salad which is made earlier in the day and served at room temperature.

A chicken recipe that is marinated in the morning or even the day before.

Roasted vegetables can be cut up and then tossed with olive oil/spices and popped in the oven

Or there are sheet pan recipes that have you cook the veggies and meat/protein on one sheet pan.

Do you want to spring for a brisket as those are pretty simple to prepare because they are prepped early in the day. Ideally they are actually cooked the day before so that the flavors get better and it is easy to remove the fat which solidifies.