Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Hobbies, Crafts, and Collections -> Needlework and Sewing
Mini sewing machine -- worth it?

amother
OP

Post Wed, Feb 22 2023, 7:36 am
Has anyone ever used a mini sewing machine? Is it worth buying?

I am not a sewing person. I can sew on buttons or repair a very small tear on the seam, by hand. The problem is that my teenage son keeps on tearing through his pants...and I hate paying for the tailor to fix them each time.

Is a mini sewing machine easy to figure out? (I've never used a sewing machine before.) Easy to use? Good for sewing along a long seam?

It seems that there are two kinds: one that looks like a regular sewing machine, but smaller. And one that is handheld. Is one a better choice than the other for me?

Last edited by amother on Wed, Feb 22 2023, 8:46 am; edited 1 time in total

amother
Slategray

Post Wed, Feb 22 2023, 8:43 am
I would suggest getting a basic full size sewing machine for about $150.

amother
OP

Post Wed, Feb 22 2023, 8:47 am
Unfortunately not in the budget right now Sad

Also, things are very cramped right now and we really don't have room for one.

Have you tried a mini sewing machine and it hasn't worked?

amother
OP

Post Wed, Feb 22 2023, 4:52 pm
Anyone?

ra_mom

Post Wed, Feb 22 2023, 5:17 pm
My little daughter uses one.
You'd still have to have someone show you how to use it. And the lines you make won't be as neat or tightly sewn as a regular machine. It can get finicky but it's usable and my daughter used it a lot. If it's this or by hand, and you need to sew a lot, it could make sense.
So that's my pros and cons list. I hope it helps you make a decision. 😊 (Maybe order it with free returns and try out and make sure it's something worth keeping.)

amother
OP

Post Wed, Feb 22 2023, 5:24 pm
Thank you! Does she use a handheld one? Or one that looks like a regular sewing machine but is smaller?