Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Recipe Collection
Hot dogs in blankets recipe anyone?

fbc

Post Mon, Feb 02 2015, 1:02 pm
I found a recipe for saucy franks in the kids in the kitchen cookbook. Im working on my shabbos menu and would like to make a shabbosdik version of the recipe. I feel that maybe adding the "blanket" would do the trick. But I'm fairly new at all this cooking, and am not into all this experimenting...if I make this frank recipe and just add puff pastry dough over it, egg it, and throw it in the oven, would that work? Or does anyone have a tried and true recipe for this? Or should I b lazy and just buy a box of frozen ones?

chillax

Post Mon, Feb 02 2015, 1:11 pm
Yup, that's what I do.
I don't know the recipe you're referring to but I just cut up hot dogs, wrap in puff pastry and bake.

fbc

Post Mon, Feb 02 2015, 1:15 pm
How long do u bake them for?

mommyofboygirls

Post Mon, Feb 02 2015, 1:26 pm
I do it with fillo dough instead of puff pastry. It's very easy. Use several sheets of fillo dough cut to fit the hot dogs (four is good), my husband likes it with a ton of sheets (like 10 sheets! crazy!), roll up the hot dog inside of it, brush the outside of it with olive oil if you want (I rarely do it because it just seems to be an aesthetic thing with these, and I also never brush between the layers of fillo dough because too much work for little payoff), and stick in the oven at 350 for like 30 minutes until the fillo dough is browned on top (I put them in the oven at the temp and length that the fillo dough calls for on the box). They are great. Dip them in mustard.

Edit: you said tried and true recipe, so I want to say yes this is tried and true. I make these allllll the time.

fbc

Post Mon, Feb 02 2015, 1:34 pm